skip to content

Ward Committees

Section 152(1)(e) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, read with sections 72 to 78 of the Structures Act, give a direct mandate to municipalities to encourage the involvement of communities and community organisations in matters of local government and to establish community participatory systems.

Sections 8 (g and h), 9(f) and 72 of the Structures Act, authorise municipalities to establish ward participatory systems as mechanisms to enhance participatory democracy in local government.

    Reƫls en Prosedures vir Wykskomitee / Rules and Procedures for Ward Committees